Percussion Quartet
(duration ~ 8:00)
Percussion quartet for 2 (or 4) marimbas, log drum, shaker and splash cymbal
To purchase the score and parts for this work, please see the print music catalogues

Program note –
The title comes from a painting by Paul Klee – the direct & centered simplicity of which was an inspiration to me during the writing of this piece. The piece also owes much to African Balofon (or xylophone) music, with its persistant ostinati, cross – rhythms & variations on simple melodic fragments. Like African music it seeks to celebrate life through rhythm, energy & movement. It was originally composed for the Sydney based percussion quartet Synergy.

There are 2 versions of this work available –
4 Marimba version (original)
2 Marimba version (revised & edited by Michael Askill)