Photo: Tim O’Connor, courtesy Melbourne Symphony Orchestra


Rimshot Music Australia Pty Ltd was formed in 1986 by Jan & Nigel Westlake as a publishing outlet for the compositions of Nigel Westlake. Scores and parts from the catalogue (including orchestral, ensemble, solo works and some film scores) can be located under the print music menu.

Other information can be found on this site regarding recordings, press articles and program notes.

Please contact if there's anything we can help you with.

Scores & parts are only available in hard (printed) copy.

PDF files of the scores & parts are not available.

Read more


  • Underscore – a documentary about the score for Ali’s Wedding

    Composer Nigel Westlake's work is steeped in the classical tradition. For the Muslim rom-com Ali's Wedding, he marries his trademark style with Middle Eastern influences to bring to life the film's universal themes. Click here to watch the 3 episodes on ABC Iview.   Read More

  • Ali’s Wedding – Wins ARIA Award

    Congratulations to the amazing music team for their work on ALI'S WEDDING Thank you and warmest appreciation to - ABC Classics -  Toby Chadd, Natalie Shea, and all the ABC Classics Team for your ongoing support The Sydney Symphony Orchestra Rory Jeffes, Aernout Kerbert, MarkRead More

  • Babe goes to New York

    In December 2016 Babe in Concert received its US debut at the Lincoln Centre performed by the New York Philharmonic, conducted by Nigel Westlake. Babe in Concert features a screening of Chris Noonan and George Miller’s Academy Award Winning movie Babe with Westlake’s score perfRead More



  • “Nigel Westlake wrote his new oboe concerto, Spirit of the Wild, after a trip with politician/environmentalist Bob Brown to Bathurst Harbour in the southwest Tasmanian wilderness. The solo oboe becomes the embodiment of that spirit and Sydney Symphony oboist Diana Doherty played it like an incarnation of an exotic woodland bird, a mercurial animal of alert and sometimes savage energy, and force of creation all in one. The work spanned long notes, haunting remoteness and awakening wonder in the first movement, driving rhythmic vitality in the second, soulfulness and cinematic ...

    Spirit of the Wild / Diana Doherty / SSO / Robertson (2017)